Results Against AEL Limmassol

AEL Limassol was founded on 4 October 1930 with the football section of the club competing in its first game on 6 January 1931 against PSC, winning 6–1 in Limassol. The club won its national championship in 1934 though this is not credited as it is an unofficial title. Later that year, AEL became one of the eight founding members of the Cypriot First Division for the 1934/35 season, the first official league of t

AEL Limassol celebrated its first official title success in 1941, beating out APOEL 4–3 in a two-legged championship play-off. AEL fans had to wait 12 years until tasting title success again, as the club finally became champions of Cyprus again in 1953. The club won its last major trophy in 1989, before the title success of 2012, when it defeated city rivals Aris Limassol 3–2 after extra time in the Cypriot Cup final.

In 2011 after disappointingly finishing 7th in the previous campaign, AEL hired Pambos Christodoulou, who had a reputation of steering “modest sides away from relegation,” to start the rebuilding process. AEL Limassol secured the Cypriot league title for the first time since 1968 on Saturday 5 May 2012, ending 44 years without a Cypriot first division title.

Ayr United lined up against Limassol on 29th July 2013 for a pre-season friendly and suffered a 2-0 defeat at Somerset Park. The United team was Hutton
Hunter McArthur Lithgrow, Pope, Forest, Marenghi, McLaughlin, Donald, Moffat and Shankland. Subs were Crawford, Muir, Malcolm, McGowen, Roberts and Wardrope

United played well considering that they suffered the dismissal of Crawford in the 2nd half. United showed good spirit with a never say die attitude fighting all the way to the end, giving the manager some hope for the new season.






Score – Ayr First

Programme Image









Copyright © 2020 Ayr Utd Archive